2013 Library Research Prizes Awarded

Congratulations to Arturo Jaras Watts for winning the
2013 Library Research Prize in the Undergraduate category.

Congratulations to Karen Corcoran for winning the
2013 Library Research Prize in the Graduate category.

In Arturo Jaras Watt's reflection essay on research for his paper Real Economic Development: Lessons from Islamic Finance done for Dr. Martin Nguyen's HR202 class, he writes:

"This research project on Islamic financial intermediation has been among the most methodical and intentional research I’ve done in college and from it I’ve learned a few things about the research process.  I learned to start early to allow time for collecting great sources. I learned how to use RefWorks—something I wish I had done freshman year.  I used the stacks for my literature review and I used suggested databases for my deeper research until, voila, inspiration hit and I was ready to develop my argument.  When the time came, writing 15 pages was almost a piece of cake, and that’s saying something.  The library’s resources, assistance and the time I allowed for the process made it all, dare I say, stress-free and enjoyable."

In Karen Corcoran's reflection essay on her research for her project entitled An Inaugural End of Life Nursing Education Program at Greenwich Hospital for  Dr. Joyce Shea's NS615 Leadership class,  she writes:

"The library class revealed the secrets to good searches. For a long time I clicked on the “classes” box on the library website to navigate to the nursing databases. Now I move with ease to CINAHL Plus and specify parameters such as search dates and “peer-reviewed journals only.” I’m impressed by how easy it is to order articles, and how quickly these orders arrive in my email. My professors have made me a discriminating evaluator of evidence, and have helped me have higher standards for what qualifies as “good” research."

Unable to see above slideshow?  You can see photos here: http://www.flickr.com//photos/dnlibrary/sets/72157633394882189/show/

The Award ceremony was held Thursday, May 2 at 2 p.m. in the Library Conference Room. Thanks to Awards Selection committee members Amanda Harper-Leatherman. Gayle Bogel, Joan Overfield, Joan Clark and Jackie Kremer for their thoughtful and insightful deliberations.